Read Descent Into Chaos by Derek Gunn Online

descent-into-chaos

The War is Over. The Vampires have Won. But a new campaign is about to begin. The first battle is over and Nero is dead. Now the human survivors will pull themselves from the ruins of their base to find that the world is a very different place outside Nero's territory. Nationally, the vampires have organized themselves into cabals but the scramble for power, raw materialsThe War is Over. The Vampires have Won. But a new campaign is about to begin. The first battle is over and Nero is dead. Now the human survivors will pull themselves from the ruins of their base to find that the world is a very different place outside Nero's territory. Nationally, the vampires have organized themselves into cabals but the scramble for power, raw materials and humans for their food, have led to an uneasy peace. Below the surface each state plots against the other and only the far-reaching power of the Vampire Council holds all-out war at bay. Now their control is slipping. And Peter Harris and his team have a plan that might just push them over the edge....

Title : Descent Into Chaos
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780979988134
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 288 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Descent Into Chaos Reviews

  • C.T. Phipps
    2018-10-12 21:16

    Vampire Apocalypse: Descent into Chaos continues the adventures of the resistance group headed by "I have no idea what I'm doing" John Harris and his rag-tag bunch of human survivors. It's been a short time the events of the first novel, A World Torn Asunder, and the first pocket of free-humanity has been established. Of course, this is when everything goes from bad to worse. Before I get into the actual review, is Vampire Apocalypse: Descent into Chaos good? Yes, it continues the trend established in the first book. The good-guy characters are sympathetic and likable. The bad-guy vampires and their thralls are hateable but interesting to read about. This is a novel where you want the heroes to win and the bad guys to fail. It's a quick read with a lot of fun, pulse-pounding action. You won't regret buying it. Now for the actual review. Before I get into the positives, I'll mention a big negative. I can't say I really liked the cover. I'm not a big stickler for covers but the whole "guy holding a gun" like he's in a Hong Kong action movie doesn't really put me in the mind of vampires or the apocalypse. It's a small complaint but one that bothered me and I felt needed to be mentioned here. On the human side of things, I continued to enjoy the depiction of the resistance. Derek Gunn has a way in describing characters that makes them come off as authentic and real. Yeah, a number of these guys will die but not all of them and you really want to see them survive. Instead of a John Conner-esque messianic archetype, John Harris is obviously just making **** up as he goes along and hoping he doesn't get the last of free humanity killed along the way. One thing I enjoyed was the author didn't just blow past the important role of support personnel in wars. Yeah, the guy who is actually holding the gun is important. Equally important, if not more so, is the guy who is making the gun and the bullets. Plus, the guy who patches the wounds of the guy holding the gun so he can learn from his mistakes and fight again or pass along his experience. Non-combat personnel are vital to any military and it's nice to see them play a role in this novel. If there's one character that's a serious misstep in the human side of things, its Regan. Yes, he's apparently named after the President. That's a bit like V for Vendetta naming Adam Susan, "Mister Thatcher." Basically, Regan is the slimy politician and obstructive bureaucrat we've seen since time memorial (I especially liked Walter Peck in Ghostbusters). In this case, Regan more or less exists to get the humans to try and entrench themselves so they can survive. This isn't unreasonable on the surface, if not for the fact that its condemning the rest of humanity to a slow and painful death at the hands of the vampires. Really, the guy is monstrously callous and even in terms of pure-survival strategy, his ideas are stupid. In their current state, Free Humanity could be wiped out by a stiff breeze. Continuing the war against the vampires is the only way they can strengthen their numbers to have an actual chance of surviving. God, yeah, I really hated that guy. Not in he "love to hate it" way, either. Thankfully, the vampires and the Thralls more than make up for this. Derek Gunn has a nice way of creating purely evil antagonists that, nevertheless, are enjoyable to read about. The vampires may all violent psychopaths but they're damned entertaining. I'm a believer there's a difference between pure evil and "two-dimensional." Daleks are pure evil and they remain the most consistently entertaining villains on Doctor Who. Really, the biggest villains in the book are turning out to be the Thralls. Essentially human but for the fact they have three times the strength of a normal person of their build, Thralls have no excuse for the horrible things they do. The vampires are alien and human but the Thralls come off as a combination of date-rapist frat boys and Nazis. I actually look forward to our heroes killing more Thralls than I do the vampires themselves. Derek Gunn does a fun job of starting to establish the seeds of a Thrall rebellion while maintaining the fact they're every bit as evil as the vampires. Overall, Vampire Apocalypse: Descent into Chaos is a nicely moody book that creates an atmosphere of heroic resistance in a relentlessly bleak world. It's a bit like I imagined Skynet's world to look like, except humans are in blood-pens as opposed to labor camps. The action is good, the characterization is consistent, and the storyline entertaining. I hope to continue to read the series as new volumes come out and wish Derek Gunn much success in the fiction market.9/10

  • Elke
    2018-10-15 21:29

    'Descent into Chaos' is the second installment in the 'Vampire Apocalypse' series, which started with 'A World Torn Asunder'. While I already loved the first novel, this sequel contains even more complexity and depth.- below may contain slight spoilers, depending how fussy you are ;) -In the first book the frontiers between friend and foe where clearly defined by the fight of humans against vampires. Now, however, new traitors and adverseries can be found within the own ranks of the human community. On the other side, the vampires have to face attacks by their own kind and even by their thralls, a situation which has never occured before. The previously inviolable power structure is threatened to be overthrown, creating new chances where hope for the continuation of mankind was almost lost.The author tells the story from different points of view, so you get to know each parties' motives for their quarrels individually and on a personal level. The previously clear scheme of good humans vs. bad vampires/thralls is no longer fitting, as good and evil are now present on both sides.

  • Justin
    2018-09-26 19:31

    The world may be overrun by vampires, but the humans are starting to fight back. After winning a decisive victory against Nero's cabal in Vampire Apocalypse: A World Torn Asunder (Vampire Apocalypse Book 1), Harris and his band of rebels are forced to escalate their resistance to acquire enough resources to sustain an increasing number of civilian refugees. This means pitting the two neighboring vampire cabals against each other in open war - with the humans caught in the middle.Author Derek Gunn lays out a very dark, very believable (OK, maybe not the whole vampire thing, but still) scenario in this series, and with this second volume the scope of the story is widened significantly. On the human side, we go from Harris and a few cohorts to a small town's worth of survivors and all the political maneuvering that brings. On the vampire side, we learn more about their hierarchies and factions, as well as some overarching rules the most powerful vampires maintain over their territories. As with the first book in the series, Gunn serves up a lot of action, and this time that includes some epic, bloody skirmishes between thralls and vampires as well as a railway scene that plays out like a blockbuster movie when you read it. The pace is fast, the stakes are high, and once you start you're going to want to barrel through to the very satisfying finish.Some of the issues I had with the first book are present here as well. The characters - especially the newer ones - tend to be thrown in with an immediate back story, and never have time to really develop. Personally, I would have loved to have seen the book expanded significantly to explore life in the survivors' compound and a more gradual development of the political turmoil that dominated the first part of the story. It would have been a good way to really get to know the characters. The book could also benefit from one more pass-through by a copy editor to clean up a few minor errors.It's not perfect, but Descent Into Chaos is an improvement over A World Torn Asunder, and a good addition to one of the better vampire-themed series out there. Fans of E.E. Knight's Vampire Earth series and Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hogan's Strain trilogy will definitely want to check out the Vampire Apocalypse.

  • Nick Cato
    2018-10-10 01:05

    Picking up two years after VAMPIRE APOCALYPSE: A WORLD TORN ASUNDER, we find our surviving humans (still led by Harris) plotting a way to bring two factions of vampires against each other while attempting to keep their own location a secret.Gunn's V.A. series features (not only) humans battling some of the more brutal vamps you've ever seen, but also vampire slaves known as "Thralls," who possess super human strength, yet not as strong as their undead masters.The first installment featured nearly non-stop action. While this one is much of the same, I found the first 90 pages to be a bit routine; its lack of dialogue slows down the prose and I began to lose interest. But when Chapter Nine kicks in (as we follow a side-plot dealing with former hitman-now-Thrall, Ralf Falconi), CHAOS dives head first into what (I guess) can be labeled a "military vampire" adventure that'll have fans of the UNDERWORLD films as happy as a rabid cannibal at a weight watchers meeting.In fact, this one reads like a cross between UNDERWORLD and UNDER SEIGE 2: DARK TERRITORY, as much of the second half takes place aboard a train our survivors use to rescue human prisoners. While some of the characters here (both living and undead) are forgettable, he generates enough into his main protagonists that I'm interested to see where he takes the third novel.The first book of this series is currently being made into a "major motion picture" (according to the author's profile). Both books DO read like a summer blockbuster, so if that's your thing you might get a charge out of this violent action yarn. If your bloodsucking preferences are along the lines of TWILIGHT, you probably won't get it. (VAMPIRE APOCALYPSE: FALLOUT is the forthcoming third title).

  • Suzieh
    2018-09-27 21:24

    I enjoyed the 2nd book in this series (3.5 stars). The concept was interesting but this book dragged in some parts

  • Evelyn
    2018-09-29 01:12

    In the second book, vampires and thralls are fighting each other. Harris and his group continues to fight for the humans. Can't wait to read the 3rd book.

  • Geoff
    2018-10-09 23:13

    So badly edited it's worse than some self-published things I've read. Repetition, every single assault rifle is a machinegun, and words used incorrectly throughout. Still a fair read.

  • Derek
    2018-10-20 20:04