Read The One-Armed Warrior: A Short Story by Noble Smith Online

the-one-armed-warrior-a-short-story

In the ancient Greek city-state of Plataea, teenage warriors trained in the ways of the battlefield long before they reached the age of eighteen. They also trained in the vicious, no-holds-barred form of unarmed combat called pankration. Similar to today’s Ultimate Fighting and MMA (Mixed Martial Arts), this extreme style of man-on-man battle was featured in the original OIn the ancient Greek city-state of Plataea, teenage warriors trained in the ways of the battlefield long before they reached the age of eighteen. They also trained in the vicious, no-holds-barred form of unarmed combat called pankration. Similar to today’s Ultimate Fighting and MMA (Mixed Martial Arts), this extreme style of man-on-man battle was featured in the original Olympic games. And sometimes, those pankration techniques were used not just for glory on the battlefield or in the Olympic stadium, but in the fields outside the city gates to settle personal, deep-seated grudges between fighters. The short story The One-Armed Warrior introduces the young pankrator Nikias, the hero of Noble Smith’s forthcoming novel Sons of Zeus, a work of historical fiction that will appeal to fans of Steven Saylor, Steven Pressfield, and Simon Scarrow....

Title : The One-Armed Warrior: A Short Story
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781466839151
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 32 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The One-Armed Warrior: A Short Story Reviews

  • Scott Rudolph
    2018-11-14 04:56

    A Prequel to Son's Of Zeus by Noble Smith!Last evening Noble Smith graciously sent this brief prequel to his novel Son's Of Zeus. The year is 432 BC, in Palataea Greece, and if you know my love of Greek mythology, you know I would have been hooked right then and thereIt's here we encounter Nikias, young and hot headed, quick to speak without thought, and much to his dismay on the losing side of battle drills. To add insult to injury he's also been humiliated in front of his grandfather, General Menesarkus, hero of the Persian Wars. In a heated moment Nikias makes the mistake of challenging a loudmouthed soldier named Axe and finds himself in what appears to be a no win situation, in front of not only his grandfather, but also the very beautiful Kallisto“Swing your arse for us, Nikias,” Axe taunted, smirking.Without thinking Nikias faced him and said in a loud voice, “I could beat the likes of you, Axe, with one arm tied behind my back.”Axe’s eyes narrowed and the smile vanished from his face to be replaced by a livid scowl."Ho ho!” responded a chorus of the veteran warriors, glaring at the young pankrator. Nikias’s own friends exchanged frightened glances; the ones closest to him were already sidling away, trying to put as much distance between themselves and Nikias as possible.....“Grandfather, I—” Nikias began.But the general cut him off, calling out over his shoulder, “Someone get me a coil of rope!”Will Nikias defeat Axe? Will he restore his Grandfather's pride, and what of the beautiful Kallisto? In the few all to brief pages of this prequel, Smith raises these questions and even more, leaving the reader very anxious for the full novel. Based on this prequel Son's of Zeus is now on my summer to be read list. It should be on yours as well!More can be found at http://ibereadin.wordpress.com

  • Brad Lamorgese
    2018-11-08 10:42

    I really enjoyed this prequel to Sons of Zeus. Here we are introduced to Nikias, a young hero-to-be. It has lots of action, coupled with a historical thriller that is well written! What a great start to a very promising series for Noble Smith. It includes a sneak peek of several chapters of Sons of Zeus.

  • Chris
    2018-11-08 03:55

    Very nice. I enjoyed this short story which I received from the author today. It was a bonus teaser in addition to the novel Sons of Zeus, which I won as a First Reads giveaway on GoodReads.Well, I will say that if this short work is any indication of what I can expect to see in the novel, I'm looking forward to that one.

  • Meaghan
    2018-11-05 04:51

    Excellent introduction to the world and characters. Really need to buy Sons of Zeus now!

  • Sydney
    2018-10-27 04:49

    Description is spectacular, it feels like I'm right in the thick of the action! I enjoyed the first chapter and can't wait to finish the story!!

  • Wendy
    2018-10-24 03:48

    I was so enamoured by the "Sons of Zeus" that I wanted to read " The One-Armed Warrior," which introduces Nikias, the young pankration fighter and his grandfather Menesarkus, a legendary warrior and athlete. The story opens with the underage warriors under Nikias' leadership being beaten by Palatean veterans. After the fight, his anger roused by Axe's animosity, Nikias challenges him to a no-holds-barred fight in which one of the combatants must be knocked out or surrender.In this story the sounds and pain of battle even in training are vividly portrayed and all too real; the clash of swords and the hammering of steel against shield and helm. Although the tale of the no-holds barred fight between Axe and Nikias is an interesting introduction into the rivalry between his family and Kallisto's and the omen in the sky a prelude to coming events, this novella is too short. I would have liked to have seen it expanded and include more insight into the family rivalry and the forbidden romance between Nikias and Kallisto.

  • Mel ☀︎
    2018-10-24 10:59

    Last night the author kindly sent me this short story, prequel to The Warrior Trilogy. It turned out to be a very nice read!There is a lot of description that makes the story that much more vivid. Nikias is a charming and very realistic character, young and reckless like teenagers can be. Menesarkus has potential to be a great character as far as I can tell, and the mention of his involvement in an accident during the Olympics made me really curious to know what actually happened. Besides, I liked that the belief in gods was very present.It was also a clever twist that the opening scene was not a real battle. I didn't expect that and it made this read all the more pleasant.Overall, Noble Smith succeeds in making the reader want to know what's next. I will definitely pick up Sons of Zeus as soon as I can.(also, bonus points for super kind author!)

  • Jack
    2018-11-13 04:35

    The One-Armed Warrior succeeds wonderfully as an introduction to the novel Sons of Zeus, its heroes, and the Ancient Greek land they inhabit. It's fast-paced, clearly written, and the author knows his subject. I only gave it three stars, however, because it doesn't stand on its own as a short story. It didn't deliver what I'm looking for in that format. It will, however, along with the four bonus chapters from the novel, let you know if Sons of Zeus is something you would enjoy.(A note on including those four chapters in the ebook. Because they take up two-thirds of the file, and I wasn't aware they were there, I thought I was only one-third of the way through the short story when I was in fact at the end. Just something to be aware of when you read it.)

  • Caitlin
    2018-11-01 03:38

    First off I want to say thank you to the author, Noble Smith, for giving me this prequel to read. What a delicious little bite this was! I have yet to read Sons of Zeus and this was the perfect taste beforehand. The author has a great voice here and I'm very intrigued to know more about Nikias. Even though this prequel was short I think it displayed everything it needed to in order to engage the reader more. There are questions unanswered and I know that I for one will be jumping Sons of Zeus higher up on my to-read list after what I just read.

  • Desiree M ~*~*~ LiveReadCollect
    2018-10-24 04:02

    4 stars. Got this for free from the author. The One-Armed Warrior was a good, enjoyable, quick read. It's the prequel to Sons of Zeus. Right from the beginning I was interested in what was going on and was curious to as the relationships between everyone. Nikias is a character that I will be interested in reading a full length novel about. He's cocky, impulsive, but he has his vulnerabilites, even in this short story he's a well rounded character. So I'm intrigued to see what a full length novel will bring. After reading this I'm even more excited to read Sons of Zeus.

  • Jean
    2018-11-13 03:41

    I was lucky enough to be sent this short story directly from the author and I loved it. It gets straight into the action, and I think it probably introduces all the main characters from the main book Sons of Zeus. ( Which I have also been lucky enough to win in a Goodreads draw)It is very descriptive, drawing you into the story. I am looking forward to reading the main book. If you like historical fiction - you're on a winner with this one.

  • Mark Mieczkowski
    2018-10-26 05:59

    This was the first book by Noble Smith that I read. I had glanced at Sons of Zeus and thought it looked interesting but I was was not familiar with the author so I used this $1 kindle short story to see if Sons of Zeus would be worth the purchase price. The One Armed Warrior was gritty with lots of action and sweat. Right after reading this, my next purchase was Sons of Zeus where the story continues.

  • Victor J. Cubas Jr.
    2018-11-03 08:02

    Great Short StoryI liked how the author drew me into the story and painted a picture that I could see. Great story, young love, a young warrior at the verge of becoming a man, and the tide of a coming war. Not much could be added to pull a reader in.

  • Ali Al-Busaidi
    2018-11-18 06:37

    It was an an action filled prequel, and seemed like a proper introduction to the characters and the setting of the main story. Looking forward to start the main book. I liked it.

  • John Warren
    2018-10-21 05:03

    love this series hopefully mr smith will continue it, only problem I had it left a lot of stories unfinished. did pick up free pdf short story on web site and the cover is awesome

  • Michael Mclendon
    2018-11-03 02:58

    Love the protagonist! The action was slick brutal and satisfying!

  • Alun
    2018-11-09 08:46

    'Sons of Zeus' has come highly recommended by my friend @parmenionbooks. This appetiser, sent me by the author, sets us up, nicely, for the main course.

  • Binku
    2018-11-13 08:59

    It was a good action prequel, probably with characters from Sons of Zeus (to buy later). The short story opens a door to the novel and it feels like reading an actual history from past.